Easy Blueberry Lemon poppyseed muffins with cream cheese icing

It’s been a while since I’ve made anything creative in the sweets department (not counting my go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe) but I was feeling inspired by all the fresh blueberries at the grocery. Plus my kids always love it when I make muffins.

I had recently seen a beautifully delicious blueberry lemon poppyseed cake one blogger made for their sweet baby’s birthday. It looked so yummy and it got me thinking about trying to make one for us, just because.. So I went about gathering the ingredients but we had no lemons or blueberries or poppyseeds (which cost a little over $5 btw) or cream cheese for the icing…

I set about my task from another direction, a simpler, more cost effective direction. And it probably didn’t take nearly as long to make my version.

Win, win.

Here is my version of blueberry lemon poppyseed cupcake muffins with cream cheese icing.


Here’s the ingredients I used…

Do you see the simplicity of this recipe?!

All you need to do is get a bowl,

empty in both bags of muffin mix,

Add 1 cup of milk…

Add the zest of two lemons if you’re feeling adventurous (I was!)

Stir it up… pour batter into muffin cups  (it will fill 12)

If you feel even more adventurous, add some fresh blueberries to the tops of each  cup before baking!

Bake according to directions on back of muffin mix bag… don’t burn them!

Let them cool completely before icing with your “homemade ” cream cheese icing!


I left some un-blueberried… some little folks in this house don’t like to be as adventurous…


Put them out on a pretty little plate and watch them disappear!


I don’t think making these could be any easier! Unless you just buy them already made from your new Publix supermarket bakery… ; )

Go try them out! Let me know what you think! What other ways do you simplify your recipes for the win?

Leave a Reply

