Dollar Store DIY- Succulent Wreath

Today I’m going to share with you how to make a very simple succulent wreath. Aside from being so pretty, it only costs a few dollars to make! Now that’s my kind of wreath!

image-1489597828448

I’m labeling this a Dollar Store DIY because I found these pretty succulent picks at the Dollar Tree ($1 each – except the smaller ones came three to a stem)!!! Hobby Lobby has a great selection too, but they are NOT $1. You could collect them over a few months and use coupons, though ; )

Don’t get me wrong, I know the time and money it takes to make an elaborate wreath. But this is not that wreath!
Here’s what you will need…

  • Glue gun and glue gun sticks
  • Grapevine wreath (size is up to you)
  • Succulent picks (got mine at the dollar store!)
  • Wire cutters
  • Ribbon or something to hang it with

Step 1

Look at your wreath and figure out the best way it would hang…

Mine was a little fat in one place so I thought it best to put the succulents there.

Step 2

Take the plastic coated wire picks off of your succulents, well most of them. Leave the longer ones. I used my wire cutters but you might be able to pull them off by hand.

Step 3

Position your succulents in a pleasing design. Play around with different layouts until you find one that looks good. I chose to group all of mine in an offset cluster at the bottom of the wreath. The possibilities are endless! Just know that if you decide to make a fully covered wreath, you will need many more succulents and the cost of your wreath will probably quadruple!


Step 5

Now get your trusty hot glue gun ( or the one you borrowed from your mother-in-law and never returned 😬…thanks g-mama!) and glue those succulents into place! I started in the middle and worked my way out, putting glue directly on the grapevine wreath.

Step 6

Decide where you want to hang your beautiful succulent wreath!

This beautiful wreath could end up costing you only a few dollars!

Here’s my cost breakdown:

  • grapevine wreath- $4.99 (used 40% off coupon from Hobby Lobby) so it was $3.00
  • I purchased my succulents from Dollar Tree- so each one was $1.00 – so $12.00 (some came attached in a three part stem)
  • everything else I had on hand – glue gun, glue sticks, hanging ribbon

I hope this inspires you to create a fun DIY succulent wreath and maybe spend an afternoon crafting something pretty for yourself or someone you love!

More Dollar Store DIY goodness to come!

3 thoughts on “Dollar Store DIY- Succulent Wreath

  1. Pingback: Happy Houseplants | adairyadesigns

Leave a Reply

