The Playing Days

While they ran around the yard, I grabbed my camera to hopefully capture a few candid moments of their happy playing. The simple game was to slide down one at a time and run into the person in front. A burst of laughter each time the next one came down and rammed the other. It was such simple fun. I love it when they get static hair. I just sat there and watched them keep going, one after the other, up the ladder, down the slide, bumping into a brother or sister and just cracking up! It made me happy to see them playing together in harmony if at least for a little while. It will be good for them to see and remember the carefree days when they played together and made up silly games.

img_5593

A side note, just so I will remember… this day was good… even though one kid has croup, one missed school because of fever and I probably got 3 hours of sleep that night before, it was still good. And did I mention I love slide static hair?

img_5568

I’m so thankful to God that I have these babies. I struggle most days to try and make life fun for them. Usually I feel that my time is pulled so thin across all of my duties as a wife and mom that I end up like that duck in Sandra Boynton’s Happy Hippo Angry Duck book. They remind me daily that it’s OK to be silly; it’s a requirement even!

img_5634

And can we just talk about this kid’s sweater for a second? Baby model! He is really into making his own clothing choices these days. But babies and sweaters…and that stare though…it’ll burn a hole through you!

img_5655

Can we say stair steps?

 

On your mark … get set …… Go-fer! Ghost! Goat!

img_5658

Go!

On to the next thing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

