A Lego Party

It’s that time of year again, October or otherwise known in my family as birth-month! My mom, sister, brother, uncle and son all have October birthdays!! It is also my favorite time of year, when the air turns cold and the leaves begin their slow beautiful death! The maple trees in our yard are some of the most beautiful ones in the neighborhood. They turn the brightest colors in fall. I just love the whole stinking season!!!

So we asked my soon to be four-year-old what kind of party he wanted to have. He thought for a moment and said, “a ninjago, lego star wars, green arrow party.” Hmmmmm, that’s kinda different I say. He is so cute and he loves him some super heroes! I finally convinced him to narrow it down to just a Lego themed party and he was okay with that.

The first thing I did, with my party wheels a turnin’, was to order some cute little lego block candy molds and lego guy molds. It was the inspiration for the whole party. I decided to stick with the traditional bold colors of yellow, red, and blue, with some green and orange added in here and there. We started with the invite.

IMG_8153-2

I used bold colored card stock and found these cute printable labels. I just printed them out on a sheet of white card stock and cut them with my paper cutter. I glued everything down and mailed them out to friends and family.

For favors I used the fun Lego block molds found here to make fun Lego crayons! Fortunately my kids love to break crayons so we just used up nearly all of our broken crayons to melt down and make the Lego crayons.  Image

I made a few batches to make enough crayons for everyone. I even made a big Lego guy for another prize for some of the games we played.

Here are the favor bags all ready to give out to the kiddos. Image

I put them in clear treat bags I already had on hand and found this fun printable for the folded label.  I had to print out four to get enough for all the favors. I cut the lego paper to size and folded it over the clear bags. Then I stapled it to secure. I used the legothick font that is free to download and wrote out all the names, cut them out and taped them to each packet. I know, this is a little overboard, but it was kinda fun!!

Next, I had to think of something fun for the kids to do! We have a fun “jumpy house” as my kids call it, so that was one of the main attractions. Image

And it coordinated nicely with the colors, ha!  And the best thing is that it was given to us by my aunt, so it is a party staple!!

I looked all over pinterest for other fun games with a lego theme, and boy the possibilities were endless. Check out my lego pinterest board.

I decided to make a lego block pinata. It was easy to make, however, it was NOT easy for 3 and 4 year-olds to bust open! It was a hoot watching them take turns trying to knock it down!  But I saved $15-$20 by making my own!  IMG_8595

IMG_8629-2My hubby had to finally tear it open for them, but it was still fun, and they didn’t seem to mind that it was a little difficult. They all got their candy in the end!

Next I found a really impressive punch-out game and thought I would try and make one for the party. It was great because it resembled a Lego block and it was a fun way to involve all the kids. Here is the tutorial on how to make it.  A bit timely to make but it was so worth it!

I filled it with fun things like ring pops, hair bows, stickers, and other random stuff. I put one of the big Lego guy crayons in the center.  The kids loved it and I loved watching them punch! IMG_8543 IMG_8631-2 IMG_8632-2 IMG_8729-2        I let my birthday boy fill a jar with Lego blocks for a “guess how many lego blocks are in the jar” game. We counted them before the party and let the guests, old and young, write their guesses. Someone even guessed the exact amount! I gave a goodie bag to the winner!

IMG_8499IMG_8542      I love a good photo booth and I had the idea of coloring bricks in our carport for a photo booth wall. They kinda resembled Lego bricks and it was great for a memory from the party.  We collected random stuff to use like fun glasses and even the beloved Hulk hand. IMG_8677-2 IMG_8679-2

IMG_8710-2

The possibilities are endless with Legos, that’s what makes them the greatest toy in the world! I think my kid would agree and he sure had fun!

Here are a few more pics from the Lego party!

IMG_8538 IMG_8534 IMG_8533 IMG_8532 IMG_8531 IMG_8501

IMG_8496Here is a recap of all the Lego party fun and where to find the awesome ideas and tutorials.

Lego Invite “You’re Invited” labels

Lego Birthday Banner      – this banner printable is awesome! I printed it, cut the letters out and glued them to red and black card stock, then I just used black double fold bias tape and sewed the thing together!

Lego Pinata   – for my pinata I  filled a big ol’ box with candy, wrapped it in red paper and cut out circles for the look of a Lego block. Attach a string securely to tie it up. Ours ended up falling down before it busted!

Lego Punch-out Tutorial  – this game is worth the effort! I may even try to reuse it for another party!!

Lego brick paper printable label   – for my favors I put a few homemade Lego crayons in a clear goodie bag, cut off a little of the bag, folded it down and stapled the folded card stock paper together over the baggie. Then I taped the kiddos names on.

Legothick font

My Lego Pinterest board

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

